Weekly Teaching Tip: Collocate!

on

 

Image
image: blog.suss-argentina.com.ar

 

Students often say that they understand/know grammar or vocabulary, but are stumped on how to actually use what they know in a conversation. When teaching vocabulary or grammar, it is really helpful to present and practice the language in chunks of speech. These helpful chunks should include the common collocations that are associated with the language. Chunking what you are teaching (including helpful collocations)  can really help build a bridge between what students know and what student can say.  For example, take a look at this graphic organizer focusing on the noun money:

Image
image: http://www.funkyenglish.com

If I only teach the word ‘money’, students will only know how to use the word ‘money’. However, by  incorporating the commonly collocated verbs, the students can begin to practice and gain confidence about how to use it when they are speaking. They can also infer from the collocations some common contexts the word money is used in.

Did you know that the 10 most frequent nouns used (collocated) with “How Many …?” are: people, times, years, hours, children, kids, women, days, votes, men?  I used to teach this grammar to talk about countable food like apples, oranges and bananas, but after I found out about the above fact I completely changed my lesson around.

Teaching grammar with the most commonly used words can prepare students for language use in the real world. Try to keep this in mind the next time you plan a vocabulary or grammar lesson :).

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Funnily enough I just wrote a post on collocations yesterday!
    If you are interesstedyou can see it here http://englishgardenbcn.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/a-tip-for-tuesday-13/

    1. Autumn says:

      That’s great! I will absolutely check it out :).

      1. Thank you!
        And thanks for the follow too, I hope you find my posts interesting and like the photos, (which are not always related to the point I cover but amuse me no end at the time I set them up andtake them 🙂

  2. Hello,
    I totally agree with you. We should all include teaching collocations in our practice. Whenever I see an opportunity to introduce collocations or other language chunks (such as set phrases), I present them to my students. I spent a whole lesson on money collocations with my students last November. You can find it here – http://phsourenglishnook.wordpress.com/2012/11/02/money-collocations-8/. If it’s not much of trouble, check it out.
    I have also created a worksheet on expressions with the word ‘time’. I plan to use it in a couple of weeks, so I will post it on my blog soon.
    Best regards from Serbia,
    Gordana

Leave a Reply

