Common English Mistakes and Mix-ups: stationary vs stationery

on

Image

This is not such a big mistake to make, but it is still something that is quite easy to mix-up!

Stationary means standing still or not moving

For example:
I thought the train was moving, but when I got closer I realized that it was stationary.

Stationery means writing paper, especially the kind with matching envelopes. It is also used to talk about writing and other office materials in general.

For example:
I just got new stationery with my name on it! I can’t wait to send letters to all my friends!

I need to find a good stationery store near my house. It takes to long to travel into the city to get my office supplies.

So, keep this in mind, especially when writing :).

image: http://www.needleinahaystackblog.biz

Leave a Reply

