Common English Mistakes and Mixups: take care vs take care of

on

Image

‘Take care’ is usually used to say goodbye to someone and it means to stay safe. It is a short version of ‘take care of yourself’.

For example:
A: I’m leaving on my trip!
B: Take care! Don’t forget to send me a postcard!

However, when we use the full phrase we must remember ‘of’! If you forget it then the form of the word will be incorrect.

For example:

I can’t go out tonight because I need to stay home and take care of my sister. (Correct!)

I can’t go out tonight because I need to stay home and take care my sister. (Incorrect)

image: http://www.commentsyard.com

Leave a Reply

