Common English Mistakes and Mix-ups: to be/to get used to (noun) vs used to (verb)

Image

 

Used to (noun/gerund) can be used as an adjective (usually with the verbs to be or to get). It means that something that was strange/new/unfamiliar to you is now normal. We often use this when we talk about our experience moving to a new place or starting a new job.

For example:

When I first started this job I wasn’t used to the hours, but now I am used to getting up early!

Note: if you use ‘used to (noun/gerund)’ with the verb ‘to get’ (usually with a continuous tense) the meaning focuses on the process of becoming familiar with something.

For example:

I am still getting used to the cold weather here in New York City. Where I am from the winters are mild, so this type of weather is very new to me. I hope to be used to this soon!

Used to (verb) has a different meaning, but it also talks about change like used to (noun/gerund). It means that I don’t do something now that, in the past, I did many times (a repeated action, like a habit).

For example:

I used to ride my bike to work, but now the weather is too cold so I take the train instead.

I used to love tomatoes when I was a kid, but now I don’t like them anymore.

image: http://www.chromemusic.de

Leave a Reply

