Quick Pronunciation idea: Repeat WITH me!

When doing choral practice for pronunciation, have the students repeat it WITH the teacher. First “Listen”  then “SAY IT WITH ME.”  NOT: First “Listen” then “Repeat”. This gives the students further exposure to the correct pronunciation. It also allows them to follow your lip movements.

When I do this I say it with them once at normal volume. Then I say it again with the student, but I lower my voice and exaggerate my lip movements. They can still hear my voice, but now I can hear their pronunciation better. Also, when I make my lip movements bigger, they imitate what I do and so their pronunciation becomes clearer and they build helpful muscle memory.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessica Falstein says:

    This is a very good tip. I plan on using it.

    1. Autumn says:

      Glad to hear it! Keep checking back. I am going to post another pronunciation tip today.

Leave a Reply

